ACT mandatory policies, International Standards, Cross-Cutting and sectoral policy guidance

ACT Alliance is committed to demonstrating accountability in every aspect of its work.

The ACT Quality and Accountability Framework 2021 summarises standards of quality towards which ACT can be held to account by its stakeholders and by each other. It states ACTs primary commitments and the different responsibilities of ACT members, ACT secretariat and ACT governance in relation to ACTs accountability mechanisms.

The table below summarizes the ACT mandatory policies, international standards, cross-cutting and sectoral policy guidance. Where, policies are approved by the Governing Board and ACT members are obliged to adhere, irrespective of their areas of work. The seven international standards have been formally adopted or committed to by ACT governance and member organizations are also strongly encouraged to implement these. ACT has further developed non-binding policy guidance on sectoral and cross cutting issues which seeks to provide reliable frameworks based on international standards that can be adapted by members to the local context.

  1. Capacity development and learning
  2. Child safeguarding
  3. Climate change framework position
  4. Civil military relations
  5. Communication with communities across the project cycle management
  6. Complaints and investigation guidelines
  7. Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR)
  8. Emergency preparedness and response communications
  9. Emergency response mechanism templates and guidelines
  10. Food security
  11. Gender equality
  12. Health and HIV
  13. Human rights
  14. Material aid
  15. Needs assessment
  16. PME and impact assessment
  17. Prevention of Sexual Exploitation and Abuse (PSEA)
  18. Protection
  19. Psychosocial support
  20. Security
  21. Sustainable development